2014 Annual Installation & Awards Dinner Recap

South Tahoe Association of REALTORS®  Annual Installation of Officers & Directors & Awards Dinner, Friday, December 5, 2014

Natalie Yanish, South Tahoe Association of REALTORS® 2014 President, passed the gavel to Brooke Hernandez, incoming President for 2015 at an Installation and Awards Dinner on Friday, December 5, 2014 at Edgewood Tahoe.

Sue Lowe, Broker for Chase International Realty was the Installing Officer and Ken Daley (of Re/Max Realty Today) expertly MC’d the event.

Ginger Nicolay-Davis (of Help U Sell Lake Tahoe Properties) and Theresa Souers (of Pinnacle Real Estate Group of Lake Tahoe) honored outstanding members for their contributions to the association this year:

Ellen Camacho (Deb Howard & Co) was honored with one of STAR’s Community Service Awards for her tireless efforts with multiple organizations in the South Lake Tahoe community, including Soroptimist International of South Lake Tahoe and St. Theresa’s Church, as well as with STAR’s Community Service Committee.

Colleen Manzer (Re/Max Realty Today) received a Community Service Award for her efforts throughout the community, especially her incredible commitment as Chair of Soroptimist International of South Lake Tahoe’s Annual Wine Tasting and Silent Auction fundraiser, which directly benefits women and youth in South Lake Tahoe.

Joe Filipko (Chase International South Tahoe Realty) was presented with the Distinguished Service Award, and thanked for dedicating multiple years as STAR’s Multiple Listing Service Committee Chair.  He guided this committee through a lockbox exchange using new blue tooth technology, and has embarked on MLS data share discussions with neighboring organizations.  Joe dedicates valuable time attending conferences at the state and national level exploring cutting edge technologies that members might benefit from, as well as stays abreast of current issues and trends effecting MLSs throughout the nation.

New REALTOR® member Rhonda Keen (of Help U Sell Lake Tahoe Properties) was recognized as the “Rookie of the Year” for jumping in as Scholarship Chair in 2014 after having been a member for less than a year!  She launched STAR’s first ever Silent Auction fundraiser at this event, which raised $875 for future scholarships.

Finally, the REALTOR® of the Year Award was given to Craig Woodward (of Deb Howard & Co), with gracious thanks for dedicating multiple years as Local Government Relations Chair.  He was praised for his tireless efforts attending local government agency meetings on STAR’s behalf, working with the Lake Tahoe South Shore Chamber of Commerce’s Government Affairs Committee, and especially on their new Independent Expenditure Committee which identified business friendly candidates in the local election and encouraged local constituents’ votes.

The members installed on the new Board of Directors for 2015 are:

  • Brooke Hernandez, 2015 President (Chase International South Tahoe Realty)
  • Ellen Camacho, 2015 President-Elect (Deb Howard & Co)
  • Jim Wire, 2015 Vice President (Chase International South Tahoe Realty)
  • Michelle Benedict, 2015 Secretary/Treasurer (Pinnacle Real Estate Group of Lake Tahoe)
  • Natalie Yanish, 2015 Immediate Past President (Deb Howard & Co)
  • Amanda Adams, Director (Re/Max Realty Today)
  • Sheila Edner, Director (Chase International South Tahoe Realty)
  • Jill Moffett, Director (Sierra Sotheby’s International Realty)
  • Jessica Seifert, Director (C21 At Tahoe Paradise)
  • Dan Spano, Director (Paradise Real Estate)
  • Flip Walker, Director (Pinnacle Real Estate Group of Lake Tahoe)
  • Craig Woodward, Director (Deb Howard & Co)
  • Jesse Yohnka, Director (Re/Max Realty Today)